Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > General Nutrition

Old 06-04-2007, 02:07 PM   #1
Mike Kirkpatrick

Default A few random IF questions from a newb

Whatsup guys? This is my first post here, and so far I have found this site to be filled with great information. Anyway, I am completely new to the whole intermittent fasting concept, as I have never even heard of it before. It seems to be a very interesting idea, and something I might be interested in starting (using the fast-5 plan) if I knew a little more about it. Ok, before the questions, here are some stats about me:

Height: 6-1"
Weight: 195lbs
Bodyfat%: 16.25
Goal bodyfat%: 10.00

My workout program is basically powerlifting on M/W/F using I believe what is the conjugate method, doing high intensity conditioning (either GPP, sprints, or guerilla cardio) on Tue/Thur, and MMA (1 hour MT, 1 hour BJJ/Wrestling) usually 2-3 days a week. So, as you can see my workload is pretty high (but nothing spectacular). I've been following John Berardi's Precision Nutrition and his 7 habits, but I find it extremely hard to always eat correctly, especially when I am away from my house.

Now, the questions (sorry guys, there a alot):

1) Is it possible for me to avoid Overtraining if I follow IF/Fast-5 with my training schedule?

2) What types of foods should I be eating during my eating periods? I am not famaliar with paleo foods honestly.

3) If I follow the Fast-5, how much food should I be eating during my 5 hour eating period? Is there a caloric limit?

4) Is it possible to continue to improve my S&C and my MMA while doing this?