Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Fitness, Strength & CrossFit

Old 07-13-2007, 11:20 AM   #1
Jonas Lind

Default Ring work

So I'm off to Barcelona, Spain for a month. Going to bring my rings and will have lots of time to workout. I got the muscle-up down and can do consecutives. Apart from that, I am a complete novice on the rings. What should I focus on next? What exercises are good to work on? I would like to put som mass on this weak body and it would be nice to develope a short routine.
Jonas Lind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:36 PM   #2
Scotty Hagnas

Hi Jonas-

Try to learn enough simple skills to put into a small routine. A few individual skills that you can easily learn might be forward rolls from support to hang, L-sits, skin the cats, tucked or straddle front and back levers, and tucked front lever pullups. (scroll down to June 7th.)

Make a simple routine something like: 2 muscle ups to L-sit, fwd roll to hang, skin the cat, pull back to front lever variation, to back lever variation, to hang to L pullup. Rest, or do some squats or pistols. Repeat. You can see how many times you can repeat the sequence before you begin to fail at some point. Lots of possibilities, experiment! Don't forget low ring possibilities, either. Pushup variations, jackknives, tucked planches, handstands, etc.

Good training!

Scotty Hagnas
CrossFit Portland
Scotty Hagnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 01:50 PM   #3
Jonas Lind

Thanks Scotty! Will def try all those out! One more Q -How hard is a backwards roll to support to learn without coaching/spotting?
Old 07-13-2007, 05:54 PM   #4
Steven Low
Super Moderator

Courtesy of Roger:

http://www.drillsandskills.com/article/17