Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 12-29-2007, 08:08 AM   #1
Susie Rosenberg

Default Women and Starting Strength

Ok, here's the short version:

1. I'm an FFFL: Fifty-two-year-old Formerly Fat Lady.
2. My endurance is more than ok, I'm a long-distance recreational cyclist and I do pretty well.
3. I've been Crossfitting for about 6 months, and it's very clear to me that my (lack of) strength is my limiting factor in a lot of workouts.
4. I'm currently suffering a bit of overuse which I feel mostly in my tendons and joints, not my muscles, per se. (Tendinitis of the left elbow, a bit of tenderness in the left knee.)
5. I am status-post surgery 14 months ago for two herniated discs at C5/6 and C6/7, and it's left me with a small motor deficit on the left side...(hey, maybe that's why I have developed the tendinitis there!). It means I have to be very careful with a neutral spine when I lift, so i can't push heavier than my form can sustain.

I'm currently 5'7" tall, I weigh 145 lbs., I estimate I'm about 24% body fat---could lose a little more.

Questions:

1. If you've coached (or are) a weightlifting female, is there anything about the Starting Strength progressions that need to be modified? I'm thinking given how skittish I am about getting hurt that I should not go up the ladder quite so fast.

2. Given the limitations I've noted above, is there anything I shouldn't do?

3. Is there anything I can do for the elbow tendinitis when I lift? For example, yesterday I was doing push-jerks (with supervision) and while I could do the lift, it hurt my left elbow (medial aspect in anatomic position) like the dickens bringing the bar back down to my chest.