Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Flexibility, Training Preparation & Recovery

Old 07-02-2008, 11:45 AM   #1
Camille Lore

Default Just darn worn out all the time

Hi all- I jumped over here from Crossfit. I've been CFing for 5 months now, following the BrandX scaled pack versions of the workouts.
I've been struggling with elbow tendinitis for a few months off and on, taking 2-4 days rest, icing, ibu, massage and it comes back with the next high pullup workout (go figure).
I've also been zoning for about 3 months on 11 blocks, with some cheating and I've been just tired all the time. I don't get that energy people talk about at all. In fact, I had more energy when I first started CF than now, and before zone. The only time I have energy now is when I take allergy meds with pseudoephedrine in them.
I'm 37, 5'4", 143lbs. I also swim short, intense (for me) sessions 2-3 times a week for about 20-25 minutes during lunch. I sleep about 8 hours a night and sit at a desk all day.
My question- do I need to take a break? (Been 10 weeks since I took a break other than occasional missed wo), or should I look into other things as a cause? Note- I've always been colder than other people, have a few degree lower body temp, bad immunity until the past 6 months, and my weight loss has been kind of slow lately. I'm reluctant to spend $ on tests if I'm just pushing a bit too much for a newbie. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
Camille Lore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 11:50 AM   #2
Allen Yeh

Take at least a week break. Just enjoy yourself, go outside, swim, take hikes. If you must go into the gym or workout I'd focus on prehab/mobility exercises and stretching.