Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Flexibility, Training Preparation & Recovery

Old 12-03-2008, 12:45 PM   #1
Brian Lawyer

Default Knowing when to rest Joints

At what point should I take a week off to let my joints catch up to my muscles or do I keep fighting through the joint soreness so long as I am still making strength gains on a weekly basis?

There is no traumatic injuries as far as I know. I can still work through it when I get thoroughly warmed up. The pain consists of a general ache in my joints. I've been hitting the gym really hard for about 2 months now doing a hybrid SS and Oly program. I've been going heavy 5 reps or less on everything. As a result, my shoulders, elbows, and hips are starting to get real sore.

I had this problem when I used to train MMA. I trained hard for about 3 months prior to a competition. The soreness in my shoulders and elbows got to a point that I could roll for about a 3 minute round then when the bell rang I could hardly lift my arms they hurt so bad. But then the next round started and I could roll through the pain. It' like the pain is gone when I am working out but quite noticeable in between set's, rounds, or the next morning.
Brian Lawyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:08 PM   #2
Garrett Smith

General joint soreness after months of hard training.

I tend to look at adrenal fatigue issues, as in the adrenals are not making enough cortisol/cortisone (the body's strongest anti-inflammatory) to keep you out of discomfort.

I worked with Josh Everett on this (he gave me permission to say this) before last year's CF Games. Obviously something worked. He did say his adrenals were burned out for several weeks after that intense event (his account).