Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Training Logs

Old 02-03-2009, 06:39 PM   #1
Alex Bond

Default Oly novice training for first comp Feb 21st! Advice welcome!

I'm a novice Olympic lifter who decided to enter a competition coming up in 18 days and this is a short log of my preparation.

First, a brief background of me. I used to do LSD running, then about two years ago switched to BB-style isolation lifting. About 9 months ago, I started doing training the right way - basically SS without the cleans, which ended up turning into the Texas method. I'm having a blast and having some good results, but I was always pissed that I never got to more than a super basic level in the Oly lifts - they are cool and I want to jump higher. So, my New Year's resolution was to learn the lifts well, and it lasted about 2 weeks before I slowed down on them and they appeared less and less in my workouts. So, I was surfing the net yesterday and ended up looking into Oly lifting competitions - turns out there is one in my area coming up!

I plan on competing in the 94kg class. My PR lifts before today were 60kg for the snatch and 80kg for the C&J. I plan on doing the power versions for both - maybe not snatch, but definitely clean. (Just for posterity, other notable PRs: back squat = 132kg for a double, press = 67kg, DL = 180g, 2000m row = 7:01)

This is my planned prep schedule:
2/3: Focus on snatch
2/5: Assistance exercises, maybe some snatches
2/7: Simulated competition (do warmup, 3 attempts at both)
2/10: Focus on C&J
2/12: Assistance exercise, some snatches or C&Js
2/14: Simulated competion
2/17: Practice with opening weights a couple of times
2/21: COMPETE!

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice others could give. Thanks for reading!