Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > General Nutrition

Old 01-19-2007, 04:14 PM   #1
Jeremy Jones

Default Sleep loss side effect

Pulled a solid 27 hr fast yesterday, and it felt pretty good.

I have been doing 20 - 24 hr fasts now for a couple months and they have been easier than I expected. My recent schedule has me doing a long fast like this about 3 - 4 days a week. Such as: Sunday finish dinner by 8pm, eat Mon at 6pm. Keep feeding through Tues night around 6 or 8. Fast on Wed. . . you get the idea.

I currently have an injured lower back. And I keep doing that thing where you think you're fine, so you do a little workout, then you hurt, so you rest, then you think you're fine, so you try a workout, etc. Long story short, I haven't been working out as much as I'd like. I ate like a Cartman at a backyard tea party through the holidays, but I was still able to throw a few fasts in there.

I didn't gain any weight and my muscle mass has stayed about the same.

Cool.

Now I gave you that background to tell you about this crazy side effect I had last night.

I finished eating Wed before 6pm, I fasted (with 1 cup black coffee, two cups of chai tea) all day. Worked out with a client at 6pm on Wed. Started making some plyo boxes, realized that 24 hr fasts, workouts and power tools don't mix, so I went and got some grub (reasonably well balanced macro nutrient wise). I ate at 9. Felt great. Finished the plyo boxes, put up a wall ball target, cleaned up, went home and ate some more at 11:30 pm. Waited around a while (not tired), tricked my kitten into doing plyo exercises and sprints. Took my ZMA and went to bed at 12:30. . .

No sleep.

1:00am. . . No sleep.