Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Training > Olympic Weightlifting

Old 01-26-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Jamie Crichton

Default Programming weightlifting and crossfit

I know this is a frequently discussed topic, but I just wanted some knowledgable people to critique my approach, which I'm going to be using for the foreseeable future.

I'm currently a medical student so training can be a bit sporadic depending on how things are at uni. I wanted to create a program with a fair bit of flexibility built in to accomodate my studies, as sticking to any set training week (eg 3/1 2/1) is a bit difficult.

I've trained Crossfit with a focus on getting stronger for the last 18 months or so, including competing in the 2009 Cf Games. Now though I find I want more of the strength and power side of things and less of the long grinding metcons. Whether this makes me better at CF or not I don't really care; I just want to be strong, powerful and well conditioned.

Here are my numbers in kg currently (and goals for this year in parentheses):
DL 200 (220)
Squat 160 (180)
C+J 117.5 (125)
Snatch 86 (95)
Press 70x3 (85x1)
Push Press 97.5 (105)

That covers the barbell lifts, which are my main focus. I also want to maintain my conditioning particularly on shorter metcons and maintain my gymnastic work.

My idea for a programme was to alternate heavy days, where I snatch up to a heavy single for the day, same for C+J, then squat variation up to a heavy 2-5, with light days, where I do technique work for the O lifts or alternate strength stuff and then a conditioning workout. Typically I train 5 days a week depending on schedule, though if I'm feeling run-down I'll take more time off.

Does this sound like a reasonable approach? Thanks for any and all advice.

Jamie