Home   |   Contact   |   Help

Get Our Newsletter
Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics, and get a FREE issue of the Performance Menu journal.

Go Back   Catalyst Athletics Forums > Nutrition > Paleo Diet

Old 05-07-2007, 10:54 AM   #1
Nathan Stanley

Default Low Carb and High Performance

I've been eating a low carb diet for a good four months now, and athletically I've performed much better than when I was eating a "normal" diet. The comment I get a lot of the time is that you can't workout or compete on a low carb diet. My experience is totally the opposite. I know the Paleo Diet for Athletes is out there, but I was wondering if there were any specific articles/resources that existed on the net that I could reference that explain this? I have found this post on the Crossfit Board which is interesting: http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/23/20842.html

Thanks
Nathan Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 11:10 AM   #2
Mike ODonnell

I think it all depends on your sport....as I play ice hockey...and no way could I survive on 30g of carbs....but I also believe in carb timing the key (like in Paleo of Athletes)....use PWO for the majority of carbs to fill glycogen stores to be ready for the next competition.
Old 05-07-2007, 11:16 AM   #3
Steve Shafley

I've talked about this in the past.

I played an entire season of rugby while on a cyclical low carb diet.

Sun afternoon -> Friday afternoon ~20-50g of carbs daily.

Friday afternoon/night: High GI carb sources ->Moderate GI carb sources
Saturday morning -> Low GI carb sources (like sweet potatoes, brown rice, etc)
Saturday afternoon -> Rugby game then copious beer consumption and unlimited food
Sunday morning -> Decent breakfast, then low carb again.

During the week, my training looked like:

Monday: Lifting
Tueday: Practice, Running conditioning, recovery methods (whirlpool, sauna, contrast showers)
Wednesday: Lifting, light running