Home   |   Contact   |   Help   |   Mobile
olympic weightlifting, weightlifting, snatch, clean, jerk
CATALYST ATHLETICS TRAINING CYCLE

Basic Rep Cycle
6 weeks

This is a basic cycle that uses a lot of triples and doubles in the classic lifts along with plenty of squatting and pulling strength work.

"30lb snatch, 25lb clean & jerk improvement from 6 weeks ago." - Sean M.

Download Excel Spreadsheet

Export Cycle as Word Doc




Monday February 13 2012
Comments (10)

  • Snatch - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Snatch Pull - 85% (of snatch) x 4 x 5
  • Pause back squat - 65% x 5 x 5
Week 1 of 6
Tuesday February 14 2012
Comments (12)

  • Jerk behind the neck - heavy single; 80% of HS x 1 x 3
  • Power snatch - 65% x 3 x 5
  • Push Press - 70% x 5 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
500 m row
20 push ball (6# ball)
Wednesday February 15 2012
Comments (1)

  • Clean - 70% x 3 x 5
  • Clean Pull - 85% (of clean) x 4 x 5
  • Front squat - 75% x 3 x 5
Thursday February 16 2012
Comments (5)

  • Power clean - 65% x 3 x 5
  • Hang snatch (below knee) - 60% x 2 x 5
  • Snatch push press + Overhead squat - 70% x 3+2 x 3
6 sets; no rest:
5 pull-ups
5 push-ups
5 KB swings
Friday February 17 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday February 18 2012
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Front squat - heavy single
  • SLDL - 3 x 5
Sunday February 19 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday February 20 2012
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 75% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
  • Snatch Pull - 95% (of snatch) x 3 x 5
  • Pause Back Squat - 70% x 4 x 5
Week 2 of 6
Tuesday February 21 2012
Comments (0)

  • Jerk - heavy single; 80% of HS x 1 x 3
  • Power Snatch - 70% x 2 x 5
  • Push Press - 75% x 5 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
20 KB swings
10 DB chainsaw rows/arm
Wednesday February 22 2012
Comments (0)

  • Clean - 75% x 3 x 2, 75% x 2 x 3
  • Clean Pull - 95% (of clean) x 3 x 5
  • Front Squat - 80% x 3 x 5
Thursday February 23 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Clean - 70% x 2 x 5
  • Hang Snatch (below knee) - 65% x 2 x 3, 70% x 2 x 2
  • Snatch Push Press + OHS - 75% x 3+2 x 3
3 sets; no rest:
2 min jump rope
12 DB push press
Friday February 24 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday February 25 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Back Squat - heavy single
  • SLDL - 3 x 5
3 sets:
300 m row sprint
30 sec rest
Sunday February 26 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday February 27 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 80% x 2 x 2, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch Pull - 95% (of snatch) x 3 x 2, 100% x 3 x 2
  • Pause Back Squat - 75% x 3 x 5
Week 3 of 6
Tuesday February 28 2012
Comments (0)

  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Power Snatch - 70% x 2 x 2, 75% x 1 x 3
  • Push Press - 75% x 5, 80% x 5 x 2
3 sets; no rest:
10 KB snatch/arm
400 m row
Wednesday February 29 2012
Comments (0)

  • Clean - 80% x 2 x 2, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean Pull - 95% (of clean) x 3 x 2, 100% x 3 x 2
  • Front Squat - 85% x 2 x 4
Thursday March 1 2012
Comments (3)

  • Power Clean - 70% x 2 x 2, 75% x 1 x 3
  • Hang Snatch (below knee) - 70% x 2 x 2, 75% x 1 x 3
  • Overhead Squat - heavy single
4 sets; no rest:
10 pull-ups
10 DB push press
Friday March 2 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday March 3 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Back Squat - heavy single
  • SLDL - 3 x 5
Sunday March 4 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday March 5 2012
Comments (3)

  • Snatch - 80% x 1 x 2, 85% x 1 x 3
  • Snatch Pull - 100% (of snatch) x 3 x 2, 105% x 2 x 2
  • Pause Back Squat - 75% x 3 x 2, 80% x 2 x 2
Week 4 of 6
Tuesday March 6 2012
Comments (2)

  • Jerk - heavy single
  • Power Snatch - heavy single
  • Push Press - heavy single
3 sets: no rest:
15 KB swings
15 push-ups
Wednesday March 7 2012
Comments (0)

  • Clean - 80% x 1 x 2, 85% x 1 x 3
  • Clean Pull - 100% (of clean) x 3 x 2, 105% x 2 x 2
  • Front Squat - 85% x 2 x 2, 90% x 1 x 2
Thursday March 8 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Clean - heavy single
  • Hang Snatch (below knee) - 75% x 1 x 3, 80% x 1 x 2
  • Overhead Squat - heavy single
3 sets; no rest:
15 DB hang power clean
15 DB push jerk
Friday March 9 2012
Comments (1)

Rest Day
Saturday March 10 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - 60% x 3, 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1, heavy single
  • Front Squat - heavy single
  • SLDL - 3 x 5
Sunday March 11 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday March 12 2012
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 2, 75% x 2, 80% x 1, 85% x 1
  • Clean Pull - 90% x 2, 95% x 2, 100% x 2
  • Back Squat - 75% x 2, 80% x 2, 85% x 1
Week 5 of 6
Tuesday March 13 2012
Comments (2)

  • Power Snatch - 60% x 2 x 3, 70% x 1 x 3, 80% x 1 x 3
  • Power Clean & Jerk - 60% x 2 x 3, 70% x 1 x 3, 80% x 1 x 3
3 sets:
3 Box jump
15 pull-ups
10 topside plate halfmoons/side
1 min rest
Wednesday March 14 2012
Comments (2)

  • Snatch - 70% x 1 x 3, 75% x 1 x 2
  • Clean & Jerk - 70% x 1 x 3, 75% x 1 x 2
  • Snatch Pull - 90% (of snatch) x 2, 95% x 2, 100% x 2
  • Front Squat - 70% x 2 x 3
Thursday March 15 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 60% x 2 x 2, 70% x 1 x 2, 80% x 1 x 2
  • Power Clean & Jerk - 60% x 2 x 2, 70% x 1 x 2, 80% x 1 x 2
3 sets:
3 box jump
500 m row
1 min rest
Friday March 16 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday March 17 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - heavy single
  • Clean & Jerk - heavy single
  • Front Squat - heavy single
If you reach your heavy single in snatch or clean & jerk with fewer than 10 reps over 60%, drop back down in weight and do singles until you've totaled 10 above 60%.
Sunday March 18 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Monday March 19 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 90% x 1
  • Clean & Jerk - 90% x 1
  • Back Squat - 75% x 2, 80% x 2, 85% x 1
Week 6 of 6
Tuesday March 20 2012
Comments (1)

  • Power Snatch - 75% x 1 x 5
  • Power Clean & Jerk - 75% x 1 x 5
  • Box Jump (from squat position) - 3 x 3
1000 m row at 75% effort
Wednesday March 21 2012
Comments (0)

  • Snatch - 80% x 1 x 3
  • Clean & Jerk - 80% x 1 x 2
  • Snatch Pull - 90% (of snatch) x 2, 95% x 2, 100% x 2
Thursday March 22 2012
Comments (0)

  • Power Snatch - 60% x 2 x 2, 60% x 1 x 4
  • Power Clean & Jerk - 60% x 2 x 2, 60% x 1 x 4
  • Box jump - 3 x 3
Friday March 23 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Saturday March 24 2012
Comments (6)

  • Snatch - max
  • Clean & Jerk - max
  • Back squat - max
Take 10-15 minutes of rest between exercises, but stay warm.
Sunday March 25 2012
Comments (0)

Rest Day
Get Our Newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get training tips and stay up to date on Catalyst Athletics AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.


Search Workouts

Workouts Menu

Training Home
Program Help
Tomorrow's Workout
Exercise Demos
Training Cycles
Text Only
Starter Program
Training Cycles

View Training by Date

Get Our Newsletter





Funny Crossfit Shirts
The largest variety of funny crossfit shirts for guys and girls.

Advertise With Us
Subscribe to the Performance Menu Magazine
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get training tips and Catalyst news AND get a free issue of the Performance Menu journal.

ASK GREG

Submit your question to be answered by Greg Everett in the Performance Menu or on the website

Submit Your Question
WEIGHTLIFTING TEAM

Catalyst Athletics is a USA Weightlifting team of competitive Olympic-style weightlifters with multiple national team medals.

Read More
Olympic Weightlifting: A DVD Guide to Learning & Teaching the Snatch and Clean & Jerk by Greg Everett
Catalyst Athletics
Contact Us
About
Help
Newsletter
Products & Services
Gym
Store
Seminars
Weightlifting Team
Performance Menu
Magazine Home
Subscriber Login
Issues
Articles
Workouts
About the Program
Workout Archives
Exercise Demos
Text Only
Instructional Content
Exercise Demos
Video Gallery
Free Articles
Free Recipes
Resources
Recommended Books & DVDs
Olympic Weightlifting Guide
Discussion Forum
Weight Conversion Calculator